Posted in For Writers

Goodbye, Yarny

yarny1The online writing site, Yarny, has announced that they are shutting down Nov. 15th. They were originally developed for people who were doing NaNoWriMo — and I wrote my first two NaNo novels on the site — so it’s especially poignant that they will be closing right in the middle of NaNoWriMo. If you have an account with them, you’ll need to login and backup your work. I spent a couple of hours today deleting my projects on the site. The trash does not self-empty. Every single snippet you delete remains in the trash until you delete from the trash, AND something to be aware of is that if you have multiple projects, each project has a separate trash can, so even if the trash appears empty, you may still have files lingering in the trash in another project.

I haven’t used Yarny much lately so though deleting everything for five projects piece by piece (no mass deletion functions), was tedious, I had everything backed up. I used Yarny for all my writing for over 2 years, the second year I was a paid subscriber. The reason I didn’t continue as a premium user and why I gradually stopped using it was that in the two and a half or so years I used it daily, the only improvement I saw was that it stopped crashing so much. No additional features were added, and I’m not talking about a lot of flashy stuff, but really basic things that affected usability and user experience. Yarny was a brilliant idea which had a lot of potential that was largely unrealized. I’m sad to see it go.

I don’t have a lot of luck with online writing platforms. They tend to sink underneath me, deteriorate, or in a variety of ways become unusable. I think it has to do with the type of sites I’m attracted to. Typically they have a small user base, are relatively newish, and the writing platform they offer is fairly basic, though the sites always have some unique features that I like and find useful.  Unfortunately I haven’t found a good replacement for Yarny. My current online writing platform is good, but doesn’t have anything nifty about it  to make me love it. Yarny was a nifty idea.

Goodbye, Yarny

Author:

Ainy Rainwater has been writing and publishing short stories, essays, and novels in various genres for about 30 years. She lives in the greater Houston area with her husband and rescue dogs. She enjoys reading, writing, playing guitar and percussion, gardening, knitting, tea, baking and other kitchen improvisations, daydreaming, and wasting time online. Her novels are available from Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Apple, Kobo, Smashwords, and other bookstores. She is presently working on a chick lit fantasy series as well as a number of side projects, including a sequel to If Wishes Were Spaceships, a science fiction novel published in March 2016. She is also known for the digital pop which she makes under the name Gymshoes. "Everest Sunrise" was featured in the documentary What It Takes. After hurricanes Katrina and Rita she released an EP of songs, A Tropical Depression, the profits of which go to benefit the American Red Cross. Gymshoes albums are available from iTunes, Amazon, and other online stores. For more about Gymshoes music, please see Gymshoesmusic.com, which has liner notes, links to social media, streaming music, and much more. You can find the author on Facebook, Instagram, Goodreads, and Twitter. She occasionally contributes to the group food blog, The Usual Suspects: http://usualsuspects.wordpress.com and posts short miscellaneous things on The Mighty Microblog: https://ainyrainwater.wordpress.com. A Truant Disposition, http://truantdisposition.com is Ainy Rainwater's official author site.

Leave a Reply

