Posted in For Writers

Wiki for Writers

I’ve decided, at least for now, to use a local wiki for organizing the Seaport series material. It had the advantage of being something I’m already familiar with it. Scrivener is an awesome system, but too complicated for what I actually need. I set my notes up in the wiki on my laptop today, hyperlinked throughout with a customized ToC, in less time than it took me to get one-third of the way through the Scrivener tutorial. (I did complete the tutorial but it took days and setting everything up in it properly would’ve taken weeks.) I wanted to love Scrivener, but instead I dreaded using it.

What I really needed, I realized, was a database of interlinked information I could access as I worked on the books. In other words, a wiki. Since I had used a version of TiddlyWiki (albeit many years ago) getting up to speed was merely a matter of downloading the updated template and dropping my notes into it, quickly creating hyperlinks as I went. If you think you’d like to use this, but are not already familiar with it, I’d recommend downloading the full file (scroll down on the Getting Started page) rather than the empty template. The “Hello There” tiddler has a short video showing some of the features and a link to a Gentle Guide to Tiddlywiki which has some links you might like to browse. Besides setting up my notes in the wiki, I’m thinking about using a separate empty template to do a bit more journaling. The manuscripts for the books still reside in a docs, but I don’t need my database of notes on the series to reside inside that same system. It’s so much easier to use a wiki!

Feeling: relieved, optimistic, creative, energized! 😀

Author:

Ainy Rainwater has been writing and publishing short stories, essays, and novels in various genres for about 30 years. She lives in the greater Houston area with her husband and rescue dogs. She enjoys reading, writing, playing guitar and percussion, gardening, knitting, tea, baking and other kitchen improvisations, daydreaming, and wasting time online. Her novels are available from Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Apple, Kobo, Smashwords, and other bookstores. She is presently working on a chick lit fantasy series as well as a number of side projects, including a sequel to If Wishes Were Spaceships, a science fiction novel published in March 2016. She is also known for the digital pop which she makes under the name Gymshoes. "Everest Sunrise" was featured in the documentary What It Takes. After hurricanes Katrina and Rita she released an EP of songs, A Tropical Depression, the profits of which go to benefit the American Red Cross. Gymshoes albums are available from iTunes, Amazon, and other online stores. For more about Gymshoes music, please see Gymshoesmusic.com, which has liner notes, links to social media, streaming music, and much more. You can find the author on Facebook, Instagram, Goodreads, and Twitter. She occasionally contributes to the group food blog, The Usual Suspects: http://usualsuspects.wordpress.com and posts short miscellaneous things on The Mighty Microblog: https://ainyrainwater.wordpress.com. A Truant Disposition, http://truantdisposition.com is Ainy Rainwater's official author site.

Leave a Reply

