Posted in For Writers

You heard it here first…

Camp-Participant-2015-Web-BannerNaNo2014-2Well, I’m in tech hell right now. My author site has gone down, so the post I was doing there I’ll be doing an abbreviated version of here instead. So, here’s ALL the news — you’re seeing it here first! I’m doing Camp NaNoWriMo in April. I haven’t done Camp before, but it’s less crazy-making than regular NaNo, with flexible (lower) word count goals, and you can also use it to revise and edit existing projects. Which is what I’m going to be doing. I’m going to be rewriting the little sci-fi novel I wrote last November AND I mocked up a better version of the cheesy cover art. 🙂 I am still not happy with the working title, so both it and the cover art will change (to something better). (The new background looks like it needs reggae music to accompany it.) 😆

I’ve set up a private cabin for a few friends. Camp NaNoWriMo is shaping up to be fun! I’ll post little whimsical updates here much like I did during NaNoWriMo last fall.

And if revising that book weren’t enough, I’ve decided to put all my material for The Seaport Chronicles (over two books worth, plus background material) into Scrivener before Camp starts in April. So, I’ve got a steep learning curve that I was going to spend all day today tackling, but instead I’m going to be corresponding with techies about my author site going down. 😦 I’ve downloaded the trial version to see if I like it. Time is running out for me to make a decision on whether to get the full version of Scrivener: my NaNo winner’s discount code expires in May.

AND I am back to contributing weekly to the Usual Suspects group food blog…though if I’ll be able to keep up that schedule with doing Camp NaNo in April, I don’t know…

I’ve lost track of how many things I’m doing at once right now. This is just writing stuff: it doesn’t include all the hiking and mucking around in the garden I’ve been doing since the weather has finally turned Spring-y. 🙂

Author:

Ainy Rainwater has been writing and publishing short stories, essays, and novels in various genres for about 30 years. She lives in the greater Houston area with her husband and rescue dogs. She enjoys reading, writing, playing guitar and percussion, gardening, knitting, tea, baking and other kitchen improvisations, daydreaming, and wasting time online. Her novels are available from Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Apple, Kobo, Smashwords, and other bookstores. She is presently working on a chick lit fantasy series as well as a number of side projects, including a sequel to If Wishes Were Spaceships, a science fiction novel published in March 2016. She is also known for the digital pop which she makes under the name Gymshoes. "Everest Sunrise" was featured in the documentary What It Takes. After hurricanes Katrina and Rita she released an EP of songs, A Tropical Depression, the profits of which go to benefit the American Red Cross. Gymshoes albums are available from iTunes, Amazon, and other online stores. For more about Gymshoes music, please see Gymshoesmusic.com, which has liner notes, links to social media, streaming music, and much more. You can find the author on Facebook, Instagram, Goodreads, and Twitter. She occasionally contributes to the group food blog, The Usual Suspects: http://usualsuspects.wordpress.com and posts short miscellaneous things on The Mighty Microblog: https://ainyrainwater.wordpress.com. A Truant Disposition, http://truantdisposition.com is Ainy Rainwater's official author site.

Leave a Reply

